Home Infrastructure Timeline For Rail Traction Power Projects

Timeline For Rail Traction Power Projects

Bhubaneswar: Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra on Monday directed officials to ensure completion of railway traction power transmission projects on time.

During a review of the projects here he asked the officials to resolve the ground level issues at the earliest.

Taking a project wise review, Mr.Mahapatra set timelines for completion of each project and asked Odisha Power Transmission Corporation (OPTCL) to adhere to the time line.

Further, CS asked the Principal Secretary Energy to take a month wise review of the work-schedule in coordination with concerned departments for expeditious implementation.

The Railways were asked to complete construction of their power conversion sub- stations in pace with power supply projects of the OPTCL.

Notably, OPTCL supplies 132 Kv or 220 Kv power to railway feeders from where the railways take power as per requirement of the trains through power conversion sub-stations.

MCL was requested to expedite the issue of no objection certificates for Belpahar transmission tower.

Presenting details of the projects, Principal Secretary Energy Nikunja Bihari Dhal said, “Presently around 27 railway traction transmission projects have been assigned to OPTCL out of which seven projects have been completed within the scheduled time with investment of around Rs.59 crore.

The other 17 projects estimated around Rs.247 cr are in different phases of implementation and three are in the process of tendering.

Out of the 17 ongoing projects, eight have been prioritized as critical ones by the railways for which special focus have been laid on early completion of the projects.

Chairman OPTCL Saurabh Garg informed during the review that as of now construction of OPTCL railway transmission sub-stations have been completed at Nuapada, Kamakshya Nagar, Kendrapara, Kechobahal, Deogaon, Lanjigarh and Boina road stations.

Out of this, railways have started power drawal from five sub-stations. Commissioning of power supply to railway lines like Titilagarh-Sambalpur-Jharsuguda, Singapur-Damanjodi, Lanjigarh-Junagarh, Nuapada-Gunupur, Tatanagar-Badampahar, Khurdha-Nuagao and Rupsa-Bangiriposi have been expedited, he said.

The other important RTSS projects reviewed in the meeting included the project at Maneswar, Bimilagarh, Belpahar, Malatipatapur, Sukinda Road, Dhanmandal, Gurposh, Bamara, Dhutra, Charbatia, Siju and Mancheswar, he said.

OPTCL was directed to complete these projects in the current working season within 2 to 3 months.

Secretary IT and Commissioner Railway Coordination Manoj Kumar Mishra, Project Director OPTCL Rajiv Lochan Panda, Principal Chief Engineer Railways Basudeb Panda along with senior officers of Railways, OPTCL and concerned departments were among others participated in the deliberations.