Home Finance Double Medal For Odisha

Double Medal For Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Odisha has won gold in two categories–Reformist State Government and Tax Commissionerate (Zones) in the 2nd National Taxation Awards for the year 2021.

In order to motivate, encourage, acknowledge the compliant taxpayers, tax technology service providers, active facilitators, fiscal journalists, tax-friendly commissionerates and reform minded States, Tax India Online has instituted the National Taxation Award.

Commissioner of CT & GST, Odisha, Sushil Kumar Lohani has received the award on behalf of the State in the presence of Union Minister for Road Transport and Highway Nitin Gadkari and Chairman of the 15th Finance Commission N K Singh in an award ceremony held on Saturday at New Delhi.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has congratulated the Commissionerate of Commercial Tax & GST on this achievement.

The performance of the State as a “Reformist State Government” was evaluated on several factors like infrastructure for industrial and skill development, Government to citizen services through technology, ease of doing business and State incentives, stamp duty rate rationalization and automation, electricity reforms and promotion of renewable energy, support to industry and trade, property and other municipal reforms.

Similarly, the performance of the State Tax Commissionerate was evaluated on the basis of several taxpayer centric delivery of services like following the process of pre-showcase notice consultations as per the policy, escalating issues of taxpayers to be resolved by GST Council, response time in resolving queries raised by taxpayers and refund process followed by the State GST Authorities.

The awardees were selected based on the feedback provided using online voting by taxpayers and citizens as well as by evaluation done by an eminent jury.