Home Politics Aparajita Wins IPU Poll

Aparajita Wins IPU Poll

Bhubaneswar: BJP MP from Bhubaneswar, Aparajita Sarangi has got elected as a member of the Executive Committee (EC) of the prestigious Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU).

Shrimati Sarangi who is now the National Spokesperson of the BJP was chosen by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to be India’s official candidate to take part in the election for one vacant post in IPU EC, said sources in her office.  

“India’s candidate MP Aparajita Sharangi won two-thirds of the votes in this IPU elections in which 178 countries participated,” a release from her office said.

IPU established in 1887 has a 15-member Executive Committee for its management. When one of these positions became vacant, an election was held to fill it up.

Two decades ago today, before 2002, Najma Heptulah was a member of this committee. For the past 20 years, there was no representative of India in this committee, the release said.

“Prime Minister Narendra Modi selected Bhubaneswar MP and National Spokesperson Aparajita Sharangi as India’s candidate. She won this historic victory with two-thirds of the votes in the election for only one seat,” the release further added.

On this occasion, the Indian representative team, which is visiting Kigali, Rwanda, in Africa, has congratulated Sarangi. Speaker Om Birla also extended welcome and greetings.

“This is a matter of pride and glory for the whole of India and four and a half crore Odiyas,” she said while thanking Prime Minister Narendra Modi for choosing her as a candidate.

After winning the 13th election, she thanked the countries that had supported her and promised all cooperation to the opposing countries as well.