Home Culture Team Tripathy Wins Club Poll

Team Tripathy Wins Club Poll

Bhubaneswar: Veteran Administrator Asit Tripathy emerged victorious in the elections of Bhubaneswar Club the results of which were announced here today.

He defeated his former senior colleague BK Patnaik by a margin of 278 votes.

All but one in Tripathy’s panel have also come out victorious.

Top Mandarin, Vishal Dev, Principal Secretary Finance  was elected as Honorary Secretary of this prestigious club of Odisha with a margin of 311 votes.

While Business Tycoon, Mahendra Gupta was elected to the post of Vice-President, Ashok Mishra became the new Joint-Secretary.

Committee Members elected are Pragati Kumar Mohanty, Sarat Chandra Bhadra, Tultul Kishor Das, Parthajit Patnaik,Debabrat Biswal and Dr.P V Mohan.

Speaking to Media after the results were announced Mr.Tripathy reiterated his poll promise to catapult this club into a club of reckoning in the country.

The club which used to be a sophisticated recreation centre for elites of the State Capital was in news for wrong reasons – gross mismanagement and nepotism.

Many members who were feeling suffocated by the almost autocratic functioning of the club gave vent to their anger, disgust and frustration through this election.

Mr.Tripathy, an avid golfer and an accomplished tennis player apart from being a very successful bureaucrat, will definitely bring in noticeable changes in the club, said a very senior member of the club expressing happiness at the outcome of this important election.

Tripathy is now the Principal Advisor to Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and the Chairman of Western Odisha Development Council.

He is also the President of the Bhubaneswar Golf Club.

Later speaking to staff and officers of the Club, Mr.Tripathy said service delivery system in club needs to be improved and nobody will be spared if any lacunae will be noticed in this regard.