On the occasion of 38th Foundation Day, Forest and Environment Minister Bikram Keshari Arukha inaugurated Online Monitoring Control Room at the office of the State Pollution Control Board, Odisha on Tuesday.

He also inaugurated the Center for Air Quality Management system and the newly built extension of the Board office building.

A special event was organized to mark the occasion. Chief Environment Engineer Dr. NR Sahoo gave the welcome address to all dignitaries and gathering.

The meeting was presided by Chief Secretary and Board Chairman Suresh Chandra Mahapatra while ACF Forest and Environment, Dr. Mona Sharma, Director Environment cum Special Secretary Susanta Nanda along with other dignitaries attended the event.

Board Member Secretary Dr K Murugesan presented the activity report of the Board. During the event, different valuable reports and compilations Paribesh Samachar; Ambient Air Quality Status and Trends in Odisha (2015-2020); Compilation of Different Reported Case Laws Passed by the State Appellate Authority, Odisha on Environmental Laws; Health Card of Paradeep Coastal Stretch 2020; Concept Report on Low Emission Zone in Bhubaneswar; Brochure on Air Pollution & Clean Air Mug were released.

On this special occasion as traditional customary best operational units under Industries, Mines & Health Care Units were facilitated for their performance on pollution control, as excellence & appreciation by the chief guest.

Under industry Category, GMR Kamalanga Energy Ltd, Dhenkanal got the excellence award while TRL Krosaki Refractories Ltd, Jharsuguda bagged the Appreciation Award.

Similarly, under the Mines category, Panchpatmali Central & North Block Bauxite Mine of NALCO, Damanjodi, Koraput, was chosen for Excellence Award and Daitari Mines of OMC Ltd., Keonjhar was given with Appreciation Award.

Under Health Care Units Category, AIIMS, Bhubaneswar was presented with the Excellence Award and Ashwani Trauma Centre, Cuttack, with Appreciation Award.

At the outset, the dignitaries of dais congratulated the State Pollution Control Board for being ranked No.1 amongst all the Pollution Control Board’s and Pollution Control Committees functioning in the country in Transparency Index rating.

Dr MK Rout Memorial Lecture was deliberated by Prof. Suddhasatwa Basu, Director, CSIR Institute of Minerals & Materials Technology, Bhubaneswar.

Following the Covid Protocol, all the dignitaries and Board Members attended the Meeting virtually. The Meeting was ended with vote of thanks by Debadutta Pattnaik, Additional Administrative Officer of the State Pollution Control Board.