Home Judiciary OREAT Gets Permanent Office

OREAT Gets Permanent Office

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Real Estate Appellate Tribunal (OREAT), established by the State Government to resolve issues related to real estate sector, gets its permanent office at Toshali Bhawan on Sunday.

Justice Vineet Saran, Judge, Supreme Court inaugurated the office here in the presence of Dr Justice S Muralidhar, Chief Justice, Orissa High Court and Justice SC Parija, Chairman, Odisha Real Estate Appellate Tribunal. Till today, the Tribunal was functioning from a temporary office at Fortune Towers.

The state government has established the Real Estate Regulatory Authority (ORERA) in accordance with the provisions of the Real Estate (Regulation & Development) Act, 2016.

The Tribunal (OREAT), which was set up three years ago, in accordance with the provisions of the Real Estate (Regulation & Development) Act, 2016, will start hearing appeals at the new office from September 27.

The litigants, advocates, general public and the Government & Non-Government Authorities have been requested to make correspondence when required in the new office address w.e.f 27.09.2021.

The Housing and Urban Development Department through its Odisha Urban Housing Missions (OUHM), Bhubaneswar has expeditiously provided all the administrative, financial and logistic supports for renovation and interior work of the permanent office and the work was swiftly executed by Industrial Infrastructure Development Corporation (IDCO) inspite of the restrictions of lockdown and shutdown during the period of Covid-19 pandemic, the sources said.

Recently, the Odisha Real Estate Appellate Tribunal (OREAT) had launched its newly developed official website – www.oreat.nic.in for the public.

Since the real estate sector is highly capital intensive, absence of institutional mechanisms to curb any tendency of fraud or cheating can have catastrophic consequences. Therefore, the Government is putting all kinds of institutional mechanisms in place so that no one will be deprived of his/her rights, official sources said.

Among others, Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra, Principal Secretary, H & UD Dept., G Mathi Vathanan, Principal Secretary, Law Department, Radha Krishna Pattanaik, Principal Secretary, Finance Dept., Vishal Dev, Principal Secretary, Works Dept, Dr. Krishan Kumar, Commissioner-cum-Secretary,Culture Dept., Suresh Chandra Dalei, BMC Commissioner Sanjay Kumar Singh, Principal Secretary and Panchayatiraj & Drinking Water Dept., Ashok K. Meena attended the function.

Executive Director, IDCO, Bhupendra Singh Poonia, Registrar General, High Court of Orissa, Chitaranjan Dash and Advocate General, Govt. of Odisha Ashok Parija and Commissioner of police Soumendra Priyadarshi have also graced the inaugural ceremony.