Home Administration Naveen AXE On 8 More Babus

Naveen AXE On 8 More Babus

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has been continuously emphasizing on the high degree of morality and integrity in public service. In this regard, eight more officers of the State Government have been given compulsory retirement for their involvement in corruption practices.  

With careful consideration of the policy of zero tolerance towards any act of immorality, inefficiency or lack of integrity, today the eight officers including three OAS officers have been given compulsory retirement with immediate effect due to inefficiency and lack of integrity.

Till now, a total of 130 government officers have been dismissed from service/sent on compulsory retirement for immorality, inefficiency or lack of integrity.

Former Tahasildar and in-charge Sub Registrar of Nimapara, Rama Chandra Jena, is facing three corruption cases. Recently, the vigilance had seized five PAN cards and around 5 lakh rupees from his possession during a raid on November 2. He had been placed under suspension since then.

Similarly, former Deputy Collector of Jagatsinghpur, Gouranga Charan Mohanty, is facing seven corruption cases. He had been charged with embezzlement of Government funds and irregularities in the implementation of schemes.

Former Tehsildar of Lathikata in Sundargarh district who is incumbent BDO of Ambabhona in Bargarh district, Alphonsa Bilung, is also facing three corruption cases filed by the vigilance. He had granted undue favour in terms of conversion of land and revenue collection.

Further, former Superintending Engineer of Baitarani Irrigation Division, Keonjhar, Bidhan Chandra Sahu, is facing one corruption case. The vigilance had caught him with Rs 10 lakh unaccounted cash when he was on his way home in Cuttack on October 9.

Sahu was also found in possession of disproportionate assets during subsequent raids on properties associated with him.

Moreover, Meena Patra, Child Development Project Officer (CDPO) of the Integrated Child Development Scheme (ICDS) at Vishwanathpur under Lanjigarh block in Kalahandi and Puspanchali Rath, the CDPO at Thuamul Rampur block in Kalahandi district have been given compulsory retirement over corruption charges against them.

Ajjit Kumar Mohapatra, former Deputy Excise Superintendent in Deogarh who is facing a graft charge has also been asked to proceed on compulsory retirement.

Besides, a cashier at Tihidi block of Bhadrak district, Prabhakar, who has been arrested in two bribery cases, has also been given compulsory retirement.