Home Urban BeMC Bags Innovation Award

BeMC Bags Innovation Award

New Delhi: Berhampur Municipal Corporation bagged Swachh Survekshan 2021 Award for Innovation and Best Practices in a function held at New Delhi on 20 November.

Vijay Amruta Kulange, Collector & District Magistrate, Ganjam along with Dr. Siddheswar Baliram Bondar, Commissioner, Berhampur Municipal Corporation and other senior officials received the Award on this occasion.

It is to mention here that Swachh Survekshan is an annual survey of cleanliness, hygiene and sanitation in cities and towns across India. The objective of the survey is to encourage large scale citizen participation, ensure sustainability of initiatives taken towards garbage free and open defecation free cities. Additionally, the survey also intends to foster a spirit of healthy competition amongst towns and cities to improve their service delivery to citizens and move towards creating cleaner cities.

The intent of improvement can be gauged in the urban space of Odisha by way of observing the rise in the Swachh Surveshan ranking of some of the ULBs in their respective categories. They have done exceedingly well in comparision to the year before and their competitors elsewhere in the country.

Urban Local Bodies of Odisha have performed well in the Swachh Survekshan 2021. A total of 4320 cities and towns had participated in the Survey. Jatani Municipality stood 6th in overall Zonal Ranking, Paradip Municipality in 8th, Dhenkanal Municipality in 11th rank, Rajagangpur Municipality in 17th, Keonjhargarh in 18th , Barbil in 21st , Jeypore in 22nd , Bhawanipatana in 24th and Jharsuguda in 25th under 50-1 lakh population  overall National Zonal Ranking category.

Similarly  Joda Municipality stood 20th , Byasanagar in 21st, Sundargarh in 26th , Anandpur Municipality in 28th , Paralekhmundi Municipality  in 33th , Jajpur Municipality in 34th and Khorda Municipality in 35th National Zonal Ranking under 25000 to 50,000 population Category.

Under 1 lakh to 10 lakh Population Category, Berhampur Municipal Corporation stood 56th whereas Rourkela Municipal Corporation in 57th rank in National Ranking , whereas Balesore Municipality in 109th    Zonal  ranking .So far as less than 25000 population category is concerned, Hinjlicut Municipality stood 110th , Rambha in 137th rank, Binika NAC in 138th Rank, Konark NAC in 140th rank,Asika NAC in 141th Rank, Patanagarh NAC in 142 Rank, Biejepur NAC in 143 rank, Surada NAC in 144th rank, Tarabha NAC in 147th rank, Kamakhyanagar in 148th rank, Kotapad NAC in 149th rank and Bhuban NAC in 150th rank under Zonal Ranking.

The introduction of the Decentralised Solid Waste Management system with the establishment of Wealth Centre, Involvement of Mission Shakti Women SHGs, Transgender, Rag pickers in the entire Sanitation Value chain, Provision of more human resources, Vehicles including Battery Operated Vehicles, Focus on awareness as well as in Behaviour Change of people , Capacity Building of various stakeholders, Active Citizen participation, moreover proper implementation and monitoring  of the activities in the true spirit has resulted in  good ranking of the Cities and Towns in Odisha in an effort to make Odisha “ Swachh Odisha Sustha Odisha”.