Home Port State Signs Gopalpur Port Agreement

State Signs Gopalpur Port Agreement

Bhubaneswar: Port Major, Gopalpur Port Limited and Odisha State Commerce & Transport Department on Tuesday have signed a Revised Concession Agreement for the development and expansion of the Port.

The agreement was signed at the Commerce & Transport Department conference hall here today in presence of State Commerce & Transport Minister Padmanav Behera and Principal Secretary Bishnupada Sethi.

Gopalpur Port was initially controlled and managed by Odisha State Commerce & Transport Department.

With change of management, an agreement was signed between Orissa Stevedores Limited (OSL) and Gopalpur Port on 14 September, 2006 to develop it as an all-weather deep sea port and operate in public-private partnership (PPP) mode.

Later, with 51 percent stake, Shapoorji Pallonji Port Maintenance Pvt. Ltd. took the management control of the Gopalpur Port on 18 January, 2017 and the balance stake remained with the original promoter OSL.

The change in management of the port required a fresh and revised concession agreement to be signed between the State Government and the port authorities, informed Minister Mr.Behera.

To recall, the State Cabinet in its meeting on 7 December, 2021, had given its approval for signing the revised agreement which came to effect today, the Minister added.

Among others, State Commerce & Transport Department Special Secretary Sanjay Mishra, Gopalpur Port Director Padmalochan Roul, Port CEO Captain Sandeep Agrawal, Senior Advisor Arabind Panigrahi, Corporate Affairs Vice President Jagdish Rout and Manager Ratiranjan Dash were present during signing of the agreement.