Home Environment SPCB Celebrates Foundation Day

SPCB Celebrates Foundation Day

The 40th Foundation Day of the State Pollution Control Board was celebrated on 14 September in the Conference Room, Head Office, Bhubaneswar.

Pradip Kumar Amat, Minister Forests, Environment and Climate Change, Panchayat Raj and Drinking Water, Information & Public Relation Department, Government of Odisha was present as the Chief Guest on this Foundation Day.

Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Forests, Environment and Climate Change Satyabrata Sahu graced the occasion and advised to generate awareness on environment protection.  Services of the ECO-Clubs of Schools are needed to be utilized for generation of awareness.

Shri Sahu said there should be balance between Industrialization and Environment Protection. Sustainable Industrialization will go a long way, while appreciating efforts of SPCB in this regard.

Principal Chief Conservator of Forests and Head of Forest Force Debidutta Biswal also graced the occasion.

Director General of Meteorology, Indian Meteorological Department Dr. Mrutyunjay Mohapatra graced the foundation day of the Board as distinguished speaker to deliver Dr. Prof. (Dr.) M.K. Rout Memorial Lecture.

On this Foundation Day, Member Secretary of SPC Board, Dr. K. Murugesan presides over the meeting and read out the Annual Activity Report of the Board.

Nihar Ranjan Sahoo, Chief Environmental Engineer, SPC Board delivered the welcome speech and highlighted the importance and significance of the Foundation Day.

On this Foundation Day, Environmental Excellence and Environmental Appreciation Awards were given to Industries, Mines, Health Care Units and Industrial Townships for their outstanding performance in the field of pollution control & management.

In the category of Industry, Pollution Control Excellence Award was awarded to Aditya Aluminum, Lapanga, Sambalpur.

Pollution Control Appreciation Award was awarded to UAL , Dhenkanal.

Similarly, in the field of Mines category Barsuan-Taldihi-Kalta Iron Mines, Sundargarh was given Pollution Control Excellence Award.

Jajang Iron Ore Mines, JSW Ltd., Keonjhar was awarded by Pollution Control Appreciation Award.

In the field of Health Care Unit, Pollution Control Excellence Award was given to Ispat General Hospital, Rourkela and Pollution Control Appreciation award to Tata Steel Hospital, Joda, Keonjhar and NTPC Hospital, Kaniha combined for their outstanding performance in Health Care Sector.

First time the Board has awarded Prof. (Dr.) M.K. Rout Pollution Control Excellence Award to Jindal Nagar Township of Jindal Steel and Power Ltd, Angul.

And Prof. (Dr.) M.K. Rout Pollution Control Appreciation Award to Paradip Refinery Township of OCL, Paradeep in the category of Industrial Township.

Director General of Meteorology, Indian Meteorological Department Dr. Mrutyunjay Mohapatra has delivered Dr. Prof. (Dr.) M.K. Rout Memorial Lecture on this occasion.

Er. Bijaya Kumar Behera, Chief Environment Engineer, Er. Rabi Narayan Prusty, Chief Environment Engineer & Er. Sitikantha Sahu, Addl. Chief Environment  Engineer of SPC Board, Bhubaneswar were coordinate the entire program.

All the Senior Officials & Other staffs of the Board were present on this Foundation Day.

Debadutta Pattnaik, Administrative Officer of State Pollution Control Board has delivered the vote of thanks