Home Administration Secretaries For Aspirational Districts

Secretaries For Aspirational Districts

Bhubaneswar: On the lines of Union Government, the State Government has nominated Secretary Level Officers in respect of ten Aspirational Districts.

The Planning & Convergence Department has brought out a notification nominating 10 senior officers Secretary-in-Charge of the Aspirational Districts under Aspirational District Program for a period of three months with effect from 1April.

The Secretaries will closely follow-up on the 49 key performance indicators (KPIs) across five sectors– health &nutrition, education, agriculture & water resource, financial inclusion and skill development & basic infrastructure in these districts.

While Principal Secretary, Commerce & Transport Madhu Sudan Padhi has been kept in charge of Kandhamal, Principal Secretary, MSME Satyabrata Sahu is Secretary-In-Charge of Kalahandi.

Similarly, Principal Secretary Energy Nikunja Bihari Dhal has been kept in charge of Raygada and, Principal Secretary Steel & Mines Surendra Kumar is Secretary in charge for Bolangir.

For Koraput, Principal Secretary, Science & Technology Santosh Kumar Sarangi and, Principal Secretary, ST & SC Development Ranjana Chopra has been kept in charge of Dhenkanal.

Principal Secretary Revenue & Disaster Management Bishnupada Sethi is in charge of Nuapada while Secretary, SSEPD Bhaskar Jyoti Sarma has been kept in charge of Gajapati district.

MD, IPICOL Nitin B Jawale will be in charge of Malkangiri and Director, Social Welfare, W & CD and MS Aravind Agrawal will be looking after the affairs of Nabarangpur.

These senior officers will visit extensively these Aspirational Districts and present their reports for review in the State Level Committee for Monitoring of Action Plan of Aspirational Districts.

The Union Government has also appointed Central Prabhari Officers for the Aspirational Districts.

The Central Prabhari Officers are also visiting regularly the Aspirational Districts are presenting their reports to the NITI Aayog.

These senior officers of the State will be coordinating with them so that these backward districts will get boost on all fronts.

Several Aspirational Districts have also improved their positions and received laurels and financial support from the NITI Aayog for their performances.

The NITI Aayog is regularly monitoring the Aspirational District programmes and coordinating with the State Government and District Collectors of these Districts also.

NITI Aayog CEO Amitabbh Kant is keeping close tab on the development of Aspirational Districts, said sources.

While nominating Secretary in charge of the Aspirational districts, the State Government has kept in mind the fact that these officers have earlier served as District Collectors or in other capacity of those districts.