Home Politics Samir Dash Joins BJP

Samir Dash Joins BJP

Bhubaneswar: In a major setback for Governing Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Puri district, BJD’s Nimapara MLA Samir Ranjan Dash on Sunday joined the saffron party after quitting the party.

He joined the BJP camp here at the party office in presence of BJP State President Manmohan Samal, party’s Odisha in-charge Vijay Pal Singh Tomar and other leaders.

Shri Dash had earlier in the day resigned from the BJD. The three-time legislator and former Minister was annoyed after being denied a party ticket to contest the 2024 Assembly elections.

“I have joined the BJP after losing confidence in the BJD leadership. I will ensure that BJP candidate Pravati Parida wins elections in the Nimapara assembly segment,” Shri Dash told reporters.

Shri Dash tendered his resignation letter to BJD President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik conveying his decision to quit the primary membership of the regional party.

In a video message, Shri Dash said that he worked sincerely for BJD since 2006 but now the leadership seemed to have lost confidence in him. “Therefore, I resigned from the primary membership of the party today,” he said.

Shri Dash was elected as MLA from the Nimapara assembly segment under the Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha seat, thrice in 2009, 2014, and 2019 on a BJD ticket. He had also served as the School and Mass Education Minister in Naveen Patnaik’s Cabinet.

The regional party, however, denied him ticket this time and nominated Dilip Nayak, who had recently switched over from BJP.

With the joining of Shri Dash in the BJP, the BJD is likely to face setback in both Nimapara Assembly segment and Jagatsinghpur Parliamentary constituency, feel political observers.

Earlier, BJD MLAs – Parsuram Dhada, Ramesh Chandra Sai, Arabinda Dhali, Premananda Nayak and Simarani Nayak have resigned from the party.

Two incumbent MPs- Bhartruhari Mahtab and Anubhav Mohanty, have also resigned from the BJD in the run-up to the twin polls for the Lok Sabha and Assembly.