Home Administration Panel To Resolve Border Dispute

Panel To Resolve Border Dispute

Bhubaneswar: The State Government on Wednesday formed a eight-member Committee under the Chairmanship of Chief Secretary SC Mahapatra to deliberate on bilateral outstanding issues of mutual interest between the State of Odisha and Andhra Pradesh.

Revenue and Disaster Management Principal Secretary Bishnupada Sethi has issued a notification in this regard. The panel will discuss the issues with the officials nominated by the State of Andhra Pradesh for the above purpose.

The other members of the panel are—Development Commissioner-cum-Additional Chief Secretary, Additional Chief Secretary, Home, Principal Secretary, Revenue & DM Department, Principal Secretary, Department of Water Resources, Principal Secretary, Energy Department, Principal Secretary, S&ME Department and Principal Secretary, Higher Education Department.

The panel has been formed as per the decision taken at the joint meeting held on November 9 here in between the Chief Ministers of Odisha Naveen Patnaik and Andhra Pradesh YS Jagan Mohan Reddy with a view to resolve bilateral outstanding issues of mutual interest between both the States.

At that meeting the Chief Ministers have decided that Chief Secretaries of both the States will set up an institutional mechanism to deliberate on outstanding issues and find a solution that is in the best interest of the people of Odisha and Andhra Pradesh.

A number of issues of mutual interest were discussed by two Chief Ministers at the meeting, particularly in the field of Water Resources, common boundary, energy and left-wing extremism;

It was decided in the meeting to work closely on resolving the issues relating to Kotia Group of Villages & any other boundary dispute, Neradi Barrage, Jhanjavathi Reservoir, Polavaram, Release of water for Bahuda river and Mutual NOCs for the Balimela and Upper Sileru in Energy sector.

At that meeting both the States resolved to extend support towards tackling the problem of left-wing extremism and ganja cultivation;

It was also decided that both the States will work towards setting up a chair for Odia and Telugu languages in B.R. Ambedkar University, Srikakulam and Berhampur University respectively.

Besides, appointment of language teachers in schools in border districts of the two States, supply of books and conduct of language examination will also be taken up to promote brotherhood;

It was also resolved in the meeting that both the States will continue the legacy of mutual cooperation and in the true spirit of Federalism discuss issues between the two States.