Home Police More PS For Better Policing

More PS For Better Policing

Bhubaneswar: For better policing in view of rise in population, the State Government has decided to open 36 new police stations in the State.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Saturday approved a proposal in this connection and asked concerned officials to make these police stations operational soon.

The new police stations will be opened at Bagedia and Gopalprasad in Angul district, Gopalpur and Anantpur in Baleswar, Bargarh Rural in Bargarh, Nimakhandi in Berhampur police district, Laxmijore and Agalpur in Balangir, Ghantapada in Boudh and Maitri Vihar in Bhubaneswar Commissionerate.

Similarly, new police stations will be come up at Maniabandha, Jodum and Bhadreswar under Cuttack rural police district, Laimura in Deogarh, Mahavir Road in Dhenkanal, Beguniapada & Kotinda in Ganjam, Krushnanandpur in Jagatsinghpur, Alkund, Dasarathpur & Brahmabarada in Jajpur.

The Jharsuguda airport area will also get its new police station while two more police stations will be set up in Kalahandi district at Karalapat & Kalampur, Pattamundai rural & Kudangari Korua in Kendrapara, Manoharpur in Keonjhar, Nachuni in Khurda, Sunki in Koraput and Malkangiri Sadar & Korkunda in Malkangiri.

Moreover, Bhanjpur (Mayurbhanj), Maidalpur (Nabarangpur),  Charichhak (Puri), Ramnaguda (Rayagada), Bareipali (Sambalpur) and Lachchipur (Subarnapur) will also get one police station each.

All these new stations have been created by dividing the area of existing stations and up-gradation of police outposts.

For these new stations, 563 new posts have been created at various levels from inspector to constable.

With the opening of new police stations, the efforts of Odisha police in providing better police services to the people will be further strengthened, said the Chief Minister.