Home Politics Cong Expels 5 Leaders

Cong Expels 5 Leaders

Bhubaneswar: Taking strong note of the ink attack on the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) President Sarat Pattanayak, the party today expelled five of its leaders for a period of 6 years.

On last Friday, two masked persons entered the OPCC President’s chamber and splashed blue ink on his clothes and face, before fleeing from the spot. This incident has again put spotlight on the internal fight within the party.  

The party has expelled OPCC General Secretary Prakash Mishra, Odisha Pradesh Mahila Congress general secretary Shriyasmita Panda, secretary of National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) Sandip Routray, Youth Congress state secretary Amresh Parida and NSUI state secretary Aryan Sasmal for their involvement in the incident.

Issuing an order for this purpose, OPCC Disciplinary Action Committee Chairman Santosh Singh Saluja said that a disturbing incident occurred in the president’s chamber in Congress Bhawan on last Friday by some office bearers and ‘padadhikari’ of the party which is very indiscipline and damage the image of the party.

Based on TV footage, for such antiparty and indiscipline activities, OPCC chief Sarat Pattanayak has expelled the Congresspersons for a period of 6 years, Shri Saluja said.