Home Administration CM Patnaik Resigns

CM Patnaik Resigns

Bhubaneswar: After remaining in the top position of the State for more than 24 years, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today resigned from the post ending an era.

A day after declaration of State Assembly election, Shri Patnaik met Governor Raghubar Das at Raj Bhawan and tendered resignation as Chief Minister of Odisha.

Though a number of BJD leaders had gathered at Naveen Niwas, he came alone to the Governor’s house to tender his resignation.  

The BJD supremo only waved at waiting journalists and left the premises after submitting his resignation letter.

It was observed that Shri Patnaik, who was always seen with a smiling face, was in a serious look while seated inside his vehicle.   

Since 1997, Naven Patnaik has been at the helm of Odisha for 27 years. After serving as Union Minister, Shri Patnaik has been serving as CM of the state since 2000. However, in the recently held state assembly polls, Shri Patnaik’s BJD lost to the BJP.

Now, the BJP is all set to form the next government after its resounding victory in the 2024 Assembly elections. The BJP won 78 Assembly seats out of 147.