Home Politics 7152 Candidates File Papers

7152 Candidates File Papers

As many as 7,152 candidates have filed their nomination papers for election to various posts in the Urban Local Bodies (ULBs). The filing of nominations was started on March 2 and the last day for filing was Monday.

According to State Election Commission (SEC), 693 candidates have submitted their nominations for the post of chairperson and mayor while 6,459 candidates have filed papers for the post of Councillor and Corporator in the civic bodies.

On the last day of filing of nominations, Monday, highest 5,045 candidates have filed their nomination documents. Of which, 4,541 nominations were filed for councillor/ corporator position and remaining 504 for chairperson/mayor post.

In the meanwhile, the mayor candidates of all three major political parties, BJD, BJP and Congress have filed their nomination for Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC), Cuttack Municipal Corporations (CMC) and Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BeMC).

In Cuttack, BJD’s Mayor candidate Subash Singh and BJP’s candidate Sritam Das have filed their nomination papers today. Congress candidate Giribala Behera had submitted her papers yesterday.

“I have born in Cuttack and the city has given me the identity and position and now, time has arrived to serve the city people,” said Singh, thanking the Chief Minister for choosing him as the candidate. Das expressed confidence that he has the support of Cuttack city residents.

Similarly, BJD and BJP nominees for Mayor post in BMC, Sulochana Das and Suniti Mund have filed their papers today here at the ADM office. Amidst sloganeering, waving of party flags, bursting of crackers and playing of DJ music by supporters, the duo submitted their nominations.

Congress’ Mayor candidate Madhusmita Acharya had filed nominations on Sunday.

The people of Bhubaneswar have stayed with the BJD and it will be reflected in this election too, said the BJD candidate.

Similarly, Dr.Mund said she will take forward the development work, which was stopped after the tenure of Aparajita Sarangi.

As per schedule announced by the SEC, scrutiny of the nomination papers will be done on March 9. The candidates can withdraw their nominations till March 14 (excluding government holiday).