UNEP Extends Green Support

The possibilities of future collaboration and partnership between State Government and United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) were explored at a high level meeting here today.

A ten-member UNEP delegation led by Executive Director Erik Solheim held elaborate discussions with senior officials of State Government at a high level meeting chaired by Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi.
Move is to achieve sustainable development through application of green technology. 
Scaling up of solar energy, organic farming, and traditional agricultural potential of Odisha were pointed out during the discussion, said sources.
And the traditional horticultural products of Odisha like turmeric, zinger, and maize also figured in the meeting.
Principal Secretary Agriculture said this year organic farming of millets has been introduced among 14000 farmers in the State.
Sources said the experience of maize cultivation in Odisha under green revolution initiatives was shared in the meeting. 
It was pointed out that maize alone had around Rs.1000 crore of market worth.
Chief Secretary Mr.Padhi emphasized upon creating appropriate marketing mechanism for farmers so that they would take interest in production of the defined food grains and millets.
He suggested forming a Joint Committee for identification of specific areas for future collaboration.
The State Government decided to constitute the Team under Chairmanship of Development Commissioner R Balakrishnan with Principal Secretary Agriculture Monoj Ahuja and Principal Secretary Finance Tuhin Kanta Pandey as Members.
From UNEP side a Team was formed under chairmanship of Senior Advisor 2030-Agenda for Sustainable Development Satya S. Tripathy.
The Joint Committee would give a formal shape to the possible collaboration and would carry forward the negotiations between UNEP and State Government, said the sources.
Additional Chief Secretary Forest & Environment Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, Principal Secretary Steel & Mines Raj Kumar Sharma, Principal Secretary Finance Tuhin Kanta Pandey, Principal Secretary Commerce & Transport, Sanjay Rastogi, Secretary Energy Hemant Kumar Sharma, Secretary Rural Development and Special Relief Commissioner, Bishnupada Sethi, Secretary Science & Technology Vir Vikram Yadav, Special Secretary Planning & Coordination GB Reddy along with a 10-member Team of UNEP, including Country Head UNEP India Vijaya Samnotra and CEO BNP Paribas Joris Direckx participated in the deliberations.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.