146 MLAs Cast Votes

With voting to elect the next President of India completed in Odisha the Box carrying stamped ballot papers were sent with all care in presence of the leaders from both BJD and Congress.

Chief Electoral Officer, D N Gupta and other senior officials took all care to seal the ballot box, which was flown to Delhi amid tight security.
This box will be kept in the Room No.62 of the Parliament along with all other ballot boxes, which will be opend on 20 July for counting and results to be declared.
In Odisha Legislative Assembly, the Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was first to vote and later Leader of the Opposition Narasingha Mishra and BJP Legislature Party Leader K V Singhdeo cast their votes for the presidential poll here today.
As many as 146 of the total 147 Lawmakers cast their votes barring Subal Sahu, a Congress MLA, who is suffering for quite some time.
As the voting process began in the Assembly, Lawmakers belonging to different political parties joined the polling process and cast their votes.
The voting process started at 10 am amid tight security and continued till 5 PM.
The other early voters were KV Singh Deo, saffron lawmaker from Patnagarh, Basant Panda, BJP State President and former Union Minister and MLA from Rourkela, Dilip Ray.
NDA's presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind is being supported by the Governing BJD in Odisha.
Mr.Kovind came to Capital City on 14 July to seek support and met the Lawmakers of BJD and BJP at separate meetings here.
However the UPA President Candidate Meira Kumar could not make it to Odisha in the run up to the Presidential election since her tours were cancelled twice.
While there are 117 BJD MLAs in the 147-member Odisha Assembly, the Congress has 16 legislators, the BJP 10, the CPI-M and the Samata Kranti Dal have one MLA each.There are two independent MLAs in the house.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.