Lawmakers Support Meira

All the Congress Lawmakers from Odisha today pledged their support for United Progressive Alliance (UPA)’s Presidential candidate Meira Kumar.

Though the Lawmakers are opposing PCC Chief Prasad harichandan, but they extended their all out support for AICC sponsored Prez Candidate at a meeting held at the official residence of Leader of Opposition Narsingha Mishra here. 
Sources said, All India Congress Committee (AICC) directed to maintain party affiliations and has sent AICC Observer Siddharth Patel to look upon the difference in opinion between the MLAs and PCC members here.
Besides MLAs, senior party leaders and observers were also present in the crucial meeting.
Talking to Media, Jhasuguda Lawmaker, Naba Kishore Das said, “As per the instructions of AICC Chief, Sonia Gandhi and Vice Presdient, Rahul Gandhi, all the MLAs and leaders have been directed to have a single opinion and choose Congress candidate Meira Kumar in the presidential elections.”
“The party has taken a stand and we are making all possible efforts to ensure Meira Kumar wins”, said Mr.Das.
Notably, UPA candidate Meira Kumar recently cancelled her Odisha visit twice due to other national engagements.
In a related development as many as three senior State Congress Legislators came out in the open seeking Niranjan Patnaik as the new President of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC).
Sundargarh MLA Jogesh Singh warned the party will be devastated if Niranjan is not made the President. “Rahul (AICC Vice-President) had asked me about Bhakta Charan Das but I had denied, I had also given the same answer to Bhakta saying that I recommended name of Niranjan,” said mr.Singh. “Our demand near All India Congress Committee (AICC) is for welfare of the party, it can only be achieved if Niranjan becomes PCC President. There is no need of demanding it regularly,” he added.
Talsara MLA Prafulla Majhi on the other hand said Bhakta becoming PCC chief is a rumour. Legislative Party wants Niranjan as the PCC chief; he should be given the post on basis of experience.”
Expressing his support to Niranjan, Congress chief whip and Jeypore MLA Tara Prasad Bahinipati said, “I had said earlier and will repeat it as I have the right to speak. I informed the party observer today that former MLAs and supporters of OPCC Chief Prasad Harichandan have left the party".

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.