Deb Gets RS Berth

Finally former Minister and BJD Leader, Pratap Keshari Deb was today elected unopposed to the Upper House of Parliament from Odisha.

Odisha Legislative Assembly Secretary Amiya Kumar  Sarangi, who was the Returning Officer for the election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat, announced Mr.Deb's election to the Upper House.

The by-election was necessitated as Bishnu Charan Das had resigned from the Rajya Sabha in March. The opposition Congress and the BJP had not fielded any candidate for the by-poll.

"I will raise issues relating to Odisha's interest in the Rajya Sabha. I am grateful to party President Naveen Patnaik for sending me to the upper house of Parliament," Mr.Deb told Media after the official announcement.

Mr.Deb is the spokesperson of Governing BJD and was the Chairman of the Odisha State Housing Board (OSHB) till he filed his nomination for the by-poll on 15 May. As OSHB is a Office of Profit he put in his papers before filing nomination.

He was earlier  Minister,  Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare in the previous BJD Government.

Mr.Deb had won the Assembly elections thrice in a row in 2000, 2004 and 2009 from Aul seat in Kendrapada district.

He had, however, lost the 2014 Assembly election to Congress candidate Debendra Sharma.

Now he will be active in party affairs in both at New Delhi and in Odisha, expecting insiders in BJD.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.