Know The New DGP

State Government has appointed Bijaya Kumar Sharma as new Head of Odisha Police Force.

Mr.Sharma belongs to the 1986 batch of the Odisha Cadre of the Indian Police Service(IPS).

Mr.Sharma has a distinguished career in the Indian Police spanning over 33 years, during which he served the State Government and the Government of India with distinction.
Mr.Sharma was Superintendent of Police of Sundargarh, Phulbani, Sambalpur and served two terms as S.P. Khurda (Bhubaneswar).
From 1999 to 2006, for seven years, Mr.Sharma served in the Central Bureau of Investigation on deputation. During the period he served all the three wings of the CBI, namely, Economic Offences, Special Crime and anti-corruption.
He also served in the crucial post of Deputy Director, Administration of the CBI before returning to Odisha cadre.
Mr.Sharma was Commissioner of Police, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack for four years from May 2008 to May 2012.
He played a pioneering role in building the entire organizational structure of the Commissionerate System, including creating the new regulatory structure and court systems.
He kept crime in the twin cities under control and created a new look traffic police that was admired by visitors to the capital city.
Mr.Sharma headed the State Crime Branch, Criminal Investigation Department, for seven years in the rank of IG, Additional DG and Special DG of Police.
Mr.Sharma headed the Odisha Prison Department briefly before heading the Home Guards, Fire Services and Civil Defense Organization.
 During Cyclone Fani his leadership of the Fire Services was highly appreciated.
Mr.Sharma is a former Full-bright Scholar and an alumni of John Hopkins University, USA, where he specialized in Drug Enforcement.

Mr.Sharma is passionate about wild-life conservation and has been awarded many prestigious prizes.

He had headed the task force in 2004 to enquire into the mysterious vanishing of Tigers from Sariska Tiger Reserve in Rajasthan.
Mr.Sharma belongs to Baripada, Mayurbhanj where he did his schooling and college education.
He was the first recipient of the Governor Police Medal for the Best Superintendent of Police in Odisha in 1999.
Besides, he is a recipient of the Indian Police Medal for Meritorious Service and President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.