Lobby For Upper House

With all the four Rajya Sabha MPs resigning from their seats, the ruling BJD is witnessing a hectic lobbying for the berth in the Upper House of the Parliament.

Newly elected Aul MLA Pratap Kesari Deb was the latest leader to resign from the the Rajya Sabha.

Earlier, three BJD leaders-Anubhav Mohanty, Soumya Ranjan Patnaik and Achyuta Samanta had resigned from the Upper House.

While Mr.Samanta and Mr.Mohanty won the Lok Sabha elections, another MP Soumya Ranjan Patnaik was elected to State Legislative Assembly from Khandapada seat in Nayagarh District.

As Anubhav Mohanty’s tenure was left about one year, the by-election to his seat may not be held this time.

The Election Commission of India may conduct by-polls for three remaining Rajya Sabha seats vacated by Mr.Samanta, Mr.Patnaik and Mr.Deb.

Mr.Patnaik and Mr.Samanta have nearly five years left in their Rajya Sabha tenure while in case of Mr.Deb it’s more three years.

The lobby for the RS polls is gaining momentum even as BJD President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had earlier announced to field Prasanna Patsani and Ramesh Chandra Chayupatnaik as its candidates for the ensuing Rajya Sabha polls.

“CM had announced my name for Rajya Sabha earlier. Therefore, I hope to get a chance to go Rajya Sabha. I am not lobbying,” said Prasanna Patsani.
Ramesh Chandra Chayupatnaik said: “When we had met the Chief Minister after Bikram Panda got Berhampur Assembly ticket, I was asked to work together and assured of Rajya Sabha berth.”
Apart from Mr.Patsani and Mr.Chayupatnaik, the BJD supremo may send former MLA and Keonjhar Strong Man Sanatan Mahakud to the Rajya Sabha this time, party sources said.
However, another source in the BJD claims that Patsani may not be chosen for the Rajya Sabha seat because of his silence during the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections.
The other names those are making round in the BJD circle are: former MP Rabindra Jena, former legislators- Maheswar Mohanty and Akash Das.
Name is Amar Patnaik and woman leader Srimayi Mishra are being discussed in the BJD circle.
This apart, three more Rajya Sabha seats may fall vacant as the tenure of Ranjib Biswal, Sarojini Hembram and Narendra Swain will end in April 2, 2020.
Keeping the BJD’s 111 strength in the State Assrmbly, it may not be difficulot for the party to ensure victory of three candidates this time.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.