Western Odisha Miss Berth

Did BJP led Government ignored Odisha’s western region which gave the party maximum number of Lok Sabha seat?

This is being debated in entire state after Modi picked up only one of the eight BJP’s elected MPs in his Council of Ministers.
Governing BJD and opposition Congress have separately accused Mr.Modi of having ignored the western region of the state.
"By inducting one of the eight elected MPs in his new council of ministers, Prime Minister Mr.Modi has let down the people of western Odisha. Not a single MP from the region has been included in his ministry," BJD leader and Minister Sushant Singh told reporters here.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, on the other hand, has included five MLAs from Western Odisha in the State Cabinet, according due importance to the region, Mr.Singh said.

Congress stalwart and Bolangir MLA Narasingha Mishra, alleged that the BJP leadership ignored Western Odisha, as done by the BJD government in the state.

"There are five BJP MPs from Western Odisha, but none of them found a place in the new ministry... Mr.Modi has proved himself to be anti-tribal," Mr.Mishra said.

Sundergarh MP Jual Oram was also dropped from the cabinet this time, and his ministry was given to former Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda.
Mr.Oram, however, maintained that he was not worried over denial of ministerial berth. "I had got an opportunity last time and some new person got the chance this time. This is a healthy practice in democracy," he said.

Criticism by the BJD and the Congress came while referring to the induction of Balasore MP Pratap Sarangi in the Council of Ministers, as a MoS. Besides Mr.Sarangi, Dharmendra Pradhan was also made a Cabinet Minister in the Modi Government.

Mr.Singh said Mr.Pradhan was not among the eight Lok Sabha MPs of the BJP, who were elected from the state in the recently concluded polls, as he is a Rajya Sabha member from Madhya Pradesh.

Of the eight BJP MPs, five were elected from the western region, but none of them was made a minister at the Centre, Singh said.

BJP's Odisha in-charge Arun Singh, however, rejected the Odisha Minister's allegation and said Mr.Pradhan hailed from the western part, and has retained the Petroleum Ministry, bagging the steel ministry in addition.
BJP State President and newly-elected MP from Kalahandi, Basant Panda, claimed that Odisha has got two Ministers in the Union Council of Ministers.
BJP MLA from Sambalpur, Jaynarayan Mishra, also rejected the BJD and Congress's allegations.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.