Tickets For Grassroot Workers

Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee President Niranjan Patnaik today said only grass root workers of the party will be eligible for tickets during the general elections in State in 2019.

Mr.Patnaik speaking to Media men after the meeting of office bearers of 10 Organizational districts, said that those sitting in Bhubaneswar cannot be considered leaders and hence will not be given tickets.
OPCC Chief held a review meeting with the office bearers of 10 districts at the Congress Bhawan here today.
He said only members connected with the common people at grass root will be given party tickets.
This was the first meeting after All India Congress Committee (AICC) appointed new Presidents and Working Presidents for the 33 District Congress Committees of Odisha on 9 June.
After two and half hours of discussion with National Congress President Rahul Gandhi, the list was cleared and youth leaders are mostly given charges of Districts.
The two-day meeting aims at bringing synchronization between the newly appointed Presidents before the elections, said Manas Chaudhury, President Bhubaneswar District Congress Committee.
The PCC Chief said the district committees now would submit a progress report every 15 days.
“In two-three months we will come to know who amongst the party is working dedicatedly for the people. This way Congress will grow from strength to strength,” Mr.Patnaik said.
Working President Pradeep Majhi said that every Zilla Parishad Zone would be considered as block and new presidents appointed in each of the ZP zones.
“The appointment of presidents will be over by the end of this month whereas the formation of booth level committee is likely to get completed by July 10,” Mr.Majhi said.
Reacting to OPCC president’s statement, senior Congress leader Suresh Kumar Routray said, the OPCC President had clearly stated that only those who are working for the people, have taken responsibilities of the party and whose winning chances are high, will be given tickets.
“There is no confusion now. Niranjan Patnaik and Rahul Gandhi are the two final authorities. If I get a ticket, I will fight,” he said.
According to party sources, the PCC Chief will have a meeting on 14 June with the Presidents and Working Presidents of 23 other districts on the similar  agenda.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.