State Forms OBC Commission

Finally Odisha Government has constituted the State Commission for Backward Classes and appointed former High Court Judge Justice Raghunath Biswal as its Chairman.

And as Members of the Commission, Prof Dr Navneeta Rath, Prof Dr Mitali Chinnara and Dr Prasanna Kumar Patra were appointed.

1996 Batch IAS Vir Vikram Yadav has been appointed as Member Secretary of the Commission, an official statement released by the Chief Ministers’ Office (CMO) said

Mr.Yadav, who is Secretary Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare and Cooperation has been given additional charge of OBC Commission, official sources said.

The State Government has constituted the Commission in accordance with the provisions of the Odisha State Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1993.

The first Chairman of the OBC Commission Justice Raghunath Biswal was a former Judge of the Orissa High Court.

Earlier, he had also served as President State Consumer Dispute Redressal Commission from November 2012 to March 2017.

While Dr Navneeta Rath is a Social Scientist who conducted studies on the backward classes, Prof. Mitali Chinnara is the Professor in Economics and Dr Prasanna Kumar Patra is a renowned Anthropologist and his research area included socio-cultural, biological anthropology and demography.

The State Government’s action came a day after National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) Chairperson, Bhagwan Lal Sahni criticised Odisha for not appointing OBC Commission and also for not reserving 27 per cent quota for the people of the Other Backward Classes (OBC) in the state.

Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan said though delayed, finally the State Government has appointed OBC Commission.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.