Power Tariff Unchanged

Odisha Electricity Regulatory Commission (OERC) has announced that the retail power tariff for the 2019-20 fiscal will remained unchanged.

OERC headed by Upendra Nath Behera has issued a notification saying that the retail tariff for FY 2019-20 remains unchanged across categories.

The power tariff was also not hiked in 2018-19 also.

The OERC had hiked 10 paise per unit in electricity tariff in 2017-18 fiscal.

"The power tariff will remain unchanged for domestic consumers, commercial and industrial units for the year 2019-20," OERC Director Regulatory Affairs, Priyabrat Patnaik said.
Electricity consumers will pay tariff at Rs 2.50 per unit for the first 50 units, Rs 4.30 per unit for consumption above 50 units up to 200 units, Rs 5.30 per unit for consumption above 200 to 400 units and Rs 5.70 per unit for consumption above 400 units as they used to do in previous year.
Mr.Patnaik said that the tariff order for FY 2019-20 is effective from June 1, 2019, the notification said LT (low tension) single phase consumer who has made full timely payment of his energy bill for 12 months of the FY, will get extra rebate.

The rebate for digital payment has also gone up from one per cent to two per cent since last year, it said adding that the meter rent for meter supplied by DISCOM Utilities shall be collected for a period of 60 months only.

However, a Reliability surcharge at the rate of 10 paise per unit (p/u) will continue for HT (high tension) and EHT (extra high tension) consumers.
Prospective new LT single phase connection up to 5 KW load shall pay a flat charge of Rs 1500 for service connection along with processing fee of Rs 25 excluding security deposit. "Tatkal Scheme" for new connection is applicable to LT

Domestic, Agricultural and General Purpose consumers shall continue, he informed.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.