Singh Next Dy Speaker

Governing BJD President Naveen Patnaik Friday nominated  Rajanikant Singh as the regional party's candidate for the post of Deputy Speaker in the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

Mr.Singh is Lawmaker of BJD from Angul. He was a former Minister in Naveen Patnaik Council of Ministers.

Similarly, Mr.Patnaik, who is also the Leader of the House appointed Pranab Balabantaray, as the Deputy Chief Whip in the Assembly.

Mr.Balabantaray is a Lawmaker of BJD from Dharmashala in Jajpur District..

While another Lawmaker from Jajpur District, Pramila Mallik is Government Chief Whip, Deputy Chief Whip was also nominated from same district.

It is a deviation from earlier principles as if Chief whip is appointed from the Coastal Zone, Deputy Chief whip was being selected from Western Zone.
But as per announcement made by General Secretary of BJD, Bijay Nayak, Mr.Balabantary has been assigned Deputy Chief Whip Post.
The Treasury Bench has 111 MLAs in the 147-member Odisha Assembly, the BJP has 23 Lawmakers and 09 MLAs belong to Congress.

The CPI(M) and the Independent have one MLA each, while two seats are vacant at present.

Election is pending in Patkura Assembly segment, while the Bijepur seat has been vacated by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Mr.Patnaik was elected from both Hinjili and Bijepur Assembly segments in the recently held Assembly elections in the state.

Earlier, the Assembly has elected Digapahandi MLA and former Minister Surjya Narayan Patro as the Speaker of the House.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.