Congress Faces Rejection

 This time Congress is facing peculiar type of embarrassment never before as its own candidates are unwilling to contest polls after being given tickets.

It never happened in the history of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) and will have serious ramification in coming days to come.
While Congress candidate from Tirtol, Bibhu Prasad Tarai has resigned from Congress, two candidates have expressed their unwillingness to contest polls.
Former MP Mr.Tarai announced his resignation from Congress, resulting huge humiliation for the Congress Leadership.
Hours after fielding Prithvi Ballabh Patnaik, son of three times Chief Minister Janaki Ballabh Patnaik, from Begunia Assembly seat, Congress had to change its candidate as Jr. Patnaik was expressed his unwillingness to contest the election.

Jr.Patnaik's name figured in the list of candidates for nine Assembly seats in Odisha released by the Central Election Committee (CEC) of AICC on 2 Apil.
However, Prithvi changed his mind and expressed unwillingness to contest from Begunia, Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) President Niranjan Patnaik said. Therefore, it became necessary to nominate another candidate, he said.
Similarly, though the party retained Yudhistir Samantray as its candidate from Pipili, he expressed disappointment over the manner in which his candidature was announced and told reporters that he will not contest.
Samantray, who was MLA from Pipili from 1995 to 2000 alleged irregularities in selection of party candidates.
While announcing Pradeep Sahoo as it candidate from Begunia in place of Jr.Patnaik, the party also declared nominees for eight other Assembly seats in a fresh list.
Announcing candidates for three Lok Sabha seats in two separate lists, Congress has fielded former Minister Finance, Panchanan Kanungo from the Cuttack and former Balangir MP Sarat Patnaik from Sambalpur parliamentary constituency.
Mr.Kanungo is set to take on BJP candidate Prakash Mishra, a retired IPS officer and BJD's five-time MP Bhartruhari Mahtab in Cuttack.

This will be a Royal Fight as all the three candidates are competent and strong in their own field.
Sarat Patnaik, who was elected twice to Lok Sabha from Balangir in 1991 and 1996, had also held the post of OPCC President from 2000 to 2004 will contest Sambalpur Lok Sabha seat.
While the OPCC president has already filed his nomination from Ghasipura assembly seat, his name figured in the new list.
The other candidates for assembly seats are Ashwani Pujari (Sambalpur), Jagdish Mohanty (Cuttack-Choudwar), Abhishek Mahananda (Cuttack Sadar-SC), Sukanta Tiadi Bhoi (Jayadev-SC), Rajib Patnaik (Bhubaneswar Central), Itish Pradhan (Bhubaneswar North) and Pradeep Swain (Chilika).
With this, Congress has so far announced candidates for 18 of the 21 Lok Sabha and 131 of the 147 Assembly seats in the state.
Lok Sabha and State Legislative Assembly elections are scheduled to be held in Odisha simultaneously in four phases on11, 18, 23 and 29 April.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.