No Ticket For Debasis

Sitting Bari MLA Debashis Nayak has been denied party ticket to contest the ensuing Assembly elections in the State.

Mr.Nayak, a former Minister and four-time MLA, was also a close associate of legendary leader Biju Patnaik  of the Biju Janata Dal. He was elected to Assembly from Bari seat ever since BJD was founded.

He was elected in four previous elections like 2000, 2004, 2009 and 2014.

Considered to be close to BJD President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, the Bari MLA has been replaced by a new comer and woman candidate Sunanda Das, who joined the BJD earlier on Monday. Ms.Das was earlier with the BJP.

Mr.Nayak being denied of the BJD ticket has surprised all in political circle keeping in view his close proximity to Naveen Patnaik family. He was also dropped from the Ministry earlier.

However, the party has re-nominated sitting MP Bhartruhari Mahtab again from the Cuttack Lok Sabha seat. Mr.Mahtab is a five-time MP from the seat.
Similarly, the party denied ticket to Finance Minister Sashi Bhusan Behera.

Former Minister Arabinda Dhali replaced Finance Minister Mr.Behera as the party's candidate for the Jaydev Assembly segment.
Sitting Moroda MLA and former Minister Pravin Bhanja Deo has been replaced by Raj Kishore Das, who joined BJD few days ago after quitting BJP.

Mr.Bhanja Deo resigned from the regional party as well from the post of BJD's Mayurbhanj District President.
Rairangpur MLA Saiba S Hansda has also been replaced by a woman leader Basanti Marandi, who joined BJD after resigning as the Congress Block Chairperson from Rairangpur.

Basta MLA Nityananda Sahoo has been re-nominated to contest the elections from his seat while Begunia MLA Prashant Jagdev has been given ticket to contest from Chilika Assembly segment.

The BJD has fielded Jyotindranath Mitra, who resigned from BJP some days ago, in the Khurda seat while Khurda MLA Rajendra Sahu has been asked to contest from Begunia Assembly seat.

The BJD has also fielded R R Biswal in Deogarh Assembly.

With Monday's announcement of party candidates the BJD has declared the names of 19 Lok Sabha candidates and 137 MLA candidates.

Sources in BJD said that Mr.Patnaik though denied ticket to four sitting MLAs, he with intention retained law-makers under Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat where the party has fielded former IPS officer Arup Patnaik by replacing the sitting MP Prasanna Patsani.
The party does not want to annoy the MLAs because the new comer Arup Patnaik is pitted against BJP’s popular bureaucrat turned politician Aparajita Sarangi. 

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.