Naveen Opens OPGC Units

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said that Odisha has created history as each and every household in State have access to electricity.

In a Program of Power to All, all the Households have been covered.

Inaugurating the third and fourth units of the state-owned Odisha Power Generation's (OPGC) IB Thermal Power Station at Banharpali in Jharsuguda district Mr.said, "Once commissioned, these two thermal units, built at an investment of Rs 15,000 crore, will provide additional 1,320 MW electricity to the state for the next 25 years."
The State Government also plans to construct a new dedicated railway line transport raw materials from the Manoharpur coal mines to OPGC, Mr.Patnaik said.
“It’s a matter of pleasure that electricity has reached all the villages of Odisha today. Electricity connection has been given to the houses of one crore people. This will solve the problems of students, farmers, women and all,” he stated.
The Chief Minister complimented the people of Banharpali for the success of this project.
“The displaced families have been rehabilitated in the new colony. Stress is being given to the education, health and skill development of the children of the displaced families. The State Government will make all arrangements for the improvement in their normal life,” he said.
He also complimented the Energy Department, OPGC, Jharsuguda District Administration and the general public for all these projects.
“I would like to thank and congratulate the experts from abroad who contributed so much to the project,” Mr.Patnaik said.
While the third and fourth units of ITPS together will generate 1,320 MW electricity, its first and second units have installed capacity of 210 MW each.
 On February 23, 2014, Mr.Patnaik had laid the foundation for the third and fourth units.
The Chief Minister also inaugurated a coal mine at Manoharpur in Sundargarh district through video conference.
 The coal mines at Manoharpur will feed coal to the two new power units of the ITPS.
The Manoharpur Coal Mines will supply 8 MT coal to the ITPS annually.
The Odisha Coal and Power Limited (OCPL) mines is state owned Orgainzation having coal mines at Manoharpur and Dip-Side Manoharpur, sources said.


eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.