No Ministry Expansion!

Saturday’s portfolio change of five Ministers by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has frustrated some senior BJD leaders who aspired to return to the Ministry after the Bijepur by-polls.

The senior leaders who had resigned from the Ministry last year to work for the party, were optimistic that Naveen would expand the Ministry and fill up two berths remaining vacant.
With a hope to return to the Ministry, the young and senior leaders had worked hard to ensure party candidate Rita Sahu wins Bijepur by-poll with a handsome margin.
The labour put by the leaders have given results as Rita Sahu defeated her BJP rival by 41,932 votes. The margin of victory for BJD surprised all including the candidate herself.
When Naveen made five Ministers happy by giving them plump portfolis, other non-Ministers are not given any posts to be pleased.
According to party insiders, of the leaders aspiring to become Ministers included Debi Prasad Mishra, Sanjay Dasburma, Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak and Arun Kumar Sahoo.

All these leaders had resigned from the Ministry last year after the party’s dismal performance in the panchayat elections.
On Saturday, Naveen distributed all the important departments among the existing Ministers.
While Niranjan Pujari has been given all important Water Resources, Prafulla Mallick got Works as prize for Bijepur.

Similarly for his hard owrk, Sushant Singh got Energy, which he was expecting long back and hyperactive Pratap Jena was given Information and Public Relations.
Similarly, Higher Education Minister Ananta Das got Industries. 
Earlier, Panchayati Raj Minister Pradeep Maharathy had got Damodar Rout’s Agriculture and Fisheries and Animal Resources Development (FARD).
Though two berths remain cacant, Naveen is unlikely to take any aspirant in the Ministry.
The reason is very simple. If he makes two persons Ministers, it will create resentment among remaining aspirants.

Therefore, Naveen will not like any kind of resentment in the party in an election year.
Keeping the style of Naveen’s functioning, the aspirants have to wait till the next Government takes charge after 2019 elections.
However, no body in the party say for sure that all the aspirants will get party tickets for the general elections.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.