Land Bank For Forestry

Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi today stressed the need for creating a land bank for compensatory afforestation in the State. 

Chairing a review meeting to assess progress of ongoing projects, Mr.Padhi directed the forest department officers to expedite the process of forest clearance to avoid time and cost overrun of projects. 

“The project proponents were advised to submit the compliances on the web portal in time. Time limit was fixed for completion of the proposals against each projects and their onward transmission to the Central Government”, he stated.

The Chief Secretary said issues relating to forest clearance for major ongoing projects in the State have been put to fast track. 

Available data shows, presently around 66 ongoing major projects, have got forest clearances.

Out of those 33 have got Stage-1 forest clearance and 33 have got State-II forest clearance.

These projects are being implemented through the departments of Steel & Mining, Energy, NHAI, Works, Industry, Irrigation, Railways and others.

The Chief Secretary directed to complete the ground level work for Stage-II clearance and transmit those to the Central Government within prescribed time limit. 

The projects awaiting Stage-I forest clearances figured in the meeting. The major projects  included Chandikhol-Duburi Talcher section of NH, Baharagora-Singara section of NH-6, Binjhabahal-Tileibani section of NH-6, Singara-Binhjabahal section of NH-6, Biramitrapur-Barkote section of NH-23, Balasore-Baripada-Jharpokharia NH-5, Pallahara bypass, Bolangir-Sonepur section of NH-57, Talcher-Bimlagarh new railway line, widening and strengthening of Rairangpur-Jasipura section of NH-220, Khurda Roadd – Bolangir rail line, doubling of  Sambalpur-Talcher rail line and   doubling of Sambalpur-Titlagarh rail line. The forest clearance for OMC mines and irrigation projects were also reviewed and expedited. 

Development Commissioner R Balakrishnan, Additional Chief Secretary Forest & Environment Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, Principal Secretary Steel & Mines Raj Kumar Sharma, Principal Secretary Industry Sanjeev Chopra, Special Secretary Commerce & Transport Manoj Kumar Mishra, Managing Director OMC R Vineel  Krishna, Member Secretary Odisha State Pollution Control Board Debidatta Biswal along with senior officers from concerned departments participated in the deliberations. 

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.