Ashok Joins BJP

Amidst opposition from Grass root workers, former Bijepur Lawmaker Ashok Panigrahi joined  BJP along with his supporters at a largely attended meeting held here in presence of Union Ministers and National General Secretary of the party.

Mr.Panigrahi returned to the saffron fold in the presence of Union Ministers Jual Oram, Dharmendra Pradhan and BJP general Secretary Arun Singh.
However all the Zilla Parishad Zone Presidents of Bijepur Assembly Constituency along with Padmapur District BJP President Narayan Sahu boycotted the meeting, while opposing joining of Panigrahi to party fold.
Out of Seven Zilla Parishad Zones, BJP has won Six ZP Zones during last Rural Polls held in 2016.
Around 10,000 BJP workers and many senior leaders like State President Basant Panda, BJP Legislature Party Leader K V Singh Deo, BJP National General Secretary Suresh Pujari, BJP Lawmaker, Pradip Purohit, former BJP Minister Jai Narayan Mishra and others attended the meeting.
Panigrahi was suspended from the BJD as he contested as an Independent candidate in 2014 polls and recently he has been expelled from the Governing party.
As announced earlier, Bargarh District BJP President Narayan Sahu, who had on Friday opposed Ashok Panigrahi, preferred to skip the program.
Sahu had demanded the party ticket for a BJP leader and opposed the possible candidature of Panigrahi for the by-election.
Sahu has told that while Panigrahi opposed BJP during last Rural Polls, the Party bagged over 90,000 Votes and Peoples’ support.
“So why take him to party fold and stoke anger among the workers and leaders.” pointed out he.
BJP Krushak Morcha Vice President Achyut Barik, who was present in the meeting said taking Panigrahi into party fold is nothing wrong, but making him the candidate for the By-Poll will harm the party.
He said opposing Panigrahi, all the ZP Zone Presidents have boycotted the meeting

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.